Location and Size

Moyamba District Council is located in the south-western part of Sierra Leone. It is the largest district in the Southern Province and covers an area of 6,902 square kilometers. The district capital is Moyamba town. The district is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean in the west; Port Loko and Tonkolili Districts in the North; Bo and Bonthe Districts in the east and south respectively. The district comprises fourteen (14) chiefdoms, six (6) parliamentarian constituencies and twenty four (24) Local Council wards. The main ethnic groups are Mende, Sherbro, Temne and Loko.

Topography and Drainage

Topographically, the district can be divided into two zones of altitude, the northeast and the south-west. The lowest part of the district is located along the southwest and rises gradually to a height of approximately 1200m which the highest in the district, both is being Kasewe and the Mokanji Hills north of the Moyamba Plateau.

Hydrologically, the district consists of two main river basins; these are the Kpangbaa and the John (Taia) Rivers. Although these rivers are seasonal, they have deep-sand filled river beds which hold considerable amount of water, even long after the rainy season. Most of the communities do not have properly constructed drainage systems. Due to excessive erosion in most communities, wastewater from household gather in the gullies or flows into the streets. This becomes breeding points for mosquitoes and other disease vectors.

Climate and Vegetation

Moyamba District, in common with the rest of Sierra Leone, experiences a wet semi-equatorial climate with two seasons. The rainy season begins in May and ends in October with the heaviest rains in July and August; and the dry season begins in November and ends in April. There is a low degree of climatic variation throughout the district. Mean annual rainfall figures range from around 125mm to slightly over 250mm. The relative humidity is 72% in the rainy season and 80% during the dry season. The average annual temperature is about 28 degrees centigrade.

The main vegetation types are secondary farm bush, grassland, mangrove and inland valley swamps. The activities of the people e.g. farming methods (indiscriminate felling of trees, continuous cultivation and the creation of new settlements) have severely affected the vegetation of the district. However, all the vegetation types are cultivable and this is useful for agricultural purposes.

Geology and Soils

The geology of the district in general terms is made up of two main rock types. These are the lower Precambrian and the undifferentiated Precambrian in the south. The Southern part of the district is occupied by the salt pans; the underground consists of a system of longitudinal sand-dunes which extends into the ocean. The major soil types are main lateritic in nature.

All the soils in these areas are well drained and suitable for agricultural purposes. The soils in the Moyamba District Council fall into three broad categories; Soils in the south western parts are sandy soils which are often salinic in nature.

Natural Resources

The main natural resources of the district comprise the following:

  • Deposit of Zircon in Kargboro Chiefdom,
  • Mini hydro-electric system at Bagruwa Chiefdom,
  • Bauxite and Rutile deposit.
  • Vast IVS in Bumpeh and Ribbi Chiefdom,
  • Salt deposit in Suen,
  • Fishing in the coastal areas of the district.
  • Existence of gravity water systems in korgbortima town to provide water supplies to communities.

News You Can Use


Be updated with the latest news, events and information from Moyamba District Council. We want you to take part in our mission as we bring positive change to all our fellow countrymen.

Click Here

Contact Information

Moyamba District Council
Reservation Road
Sierra Leone

Ongoing Projects

  • Coming Soon...
  • Coming Soon...
  • Coming Soon...
Click Here
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
Valid CSS!